Skip to page content


Craig H. Kennedy is the 15th dean of the College of Education and a professor in the Department of Communication Sciences and Special Education.

Prior to joining the University of Georgia, Kennedy was senior associate dean and professor of special education and pediatrics at Vanderbilt University. He was previously chair of its top-ranked special education department.

Kennedy's research focuses on autism and neurodevelopmental disabilities, specifically in the areas of aggression and social relationships. He has published more than 150 scholarly articles, book chapters, and books, and presented more than 300 papers at national and international conferences.

Kennedy has been principal or co-investigator on projects receiving more than $16 million in extramural funding and has served as a member of nine editorial boards and as an associate editor for three journals. His awards have included the B.F. Skinner New Researcher Award from the American Psychological Association and Educator of the Year from the Nashville Mayor's Advisory Council for People with Disabilities.

Prior to Vanderbilt, Kennedy was an associate professor in the Departments of Psychiatry and Pharmacology at the Medical College of Pennsylvania. He began his academic career as an assistant professor in the Department of Special Education at the University of Hawaii. He earned his doctorate from the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Under Kennedy's leadership, the College of Education has moved from a ranking of 43rd among schools of education in 2013 to 33rd as reported in U.S. News & World Report's 2015 edition of Best Graduate Schools.

Dean Kennedy

Portrait of Dean Kennedy