Skip to page content

Quantitative Methodology

The mission of the Quantitative Methodology program is to:

  • Increase the effectiveness of research and assessment in the social sciences by advancing quantitative methodology through state-of-the-art research.
  • Train students to become high-quality researchers in the areas of psychometrics, statistics, measurement, and assessment.

The Quantitative Methodology program offers three degrees under the Department of Educational Psychology. The M.A. and Ph.D. in Quantitative Methodology are research-oriented degrees. The M.A. and Ph.D. degree culminate in a thesis and dissertation, respectively, that advances the field quantitative methodology in a significant way. The M.Ed. program focuses on applications of advanced quantitative methodology and is open to students enrolled at UGA in another doctoral program to complete in order to develop a top-notch statistical toolkit for conducting research in their primary discipline. Under Academic Programs below are links to more information about each degree.

The Quantitative Methodology program is led by seven tenure-track, full-time faculty. Faculty members are leaders in the field whose work has been recognized with awards from scholarly organizations such as the National Council on Measurement in Education. Faculty actively contribute to research often funded by the National Science Foundation and the Institute of Educational Sciences. They also serve the field as editors for leading journals and assist in practice as members of technical advisory committees for states and companies developing high-stakes assessments. Faculty conduct research in areas such as:

  • Assessment Design
  • Computer Adaptive Testing
  • Diagnostic classification modeling
  • Hierarchical linear modeling
  • Item response theory
  • Measurement invariance
  • Programming and estimation
  • Psychometrics
  • Structural equation modeling

Degree Programs

Master of Education (MEd)

Master of Arts (MA)

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

Faculty and Staff

Laine P Bradshaw Associate Professor
Allan S. Cohen Professor Emeritus
Seock-Ho Kim Professor
Zhenqiu (Laura) Lu Associate Professor
Matthew Madison Assistant Professor
Shiyu Wang Associate Professor

Contact Info

  • Phone: 706-542-4110
323 Aderhold Hall 110 Carlton Street Athens, Georgia 30602
© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602