Skip to page content


Known for pioneering work regionally, nationally, and internationally, the Department of Lifelong Education, Administration, and Policy includes three program areas:

Our faculty challenge and engage students in graduate programs focused on intellectual inquiry, research, and practice. Our programs prepare leaders who create and share knowledge and strategies to improve the quality of life of individuals and organizations.

Department faculty are recognized nationally and internationally for contributions in research and policy development. Our faculty members' research includes action research, multicultural perspectives in adult education, education law, gender inequity, administration, school improvement, education policy, human resource and organizational development, the superintendency, and qualitative research methods.

Our faculty are also regular contributors to the Journal of Higher Education Outreach and Engagement, have an active role in the development of the State of Education in Georgia annual conference, provide leadership in supporting the lifelong learning institute on campus, and provide training to adult literacy instructors throughout the state.

Contact Details

  • Address:
    River's Crossing
    850 College Station Road
    Athens, Georgia 30602
  • Department head: Kathleen P. deMarrais

Support our programs

Student Organizations

Lifelong Learning Association (UGALLA)

This organization provides a communication network to students, faculty, and professionals interested in lifelong learning. It also facilitates social/professional interaction among lifelong learners and supports adjunct learning experiences.

Members are graduate students in the Department of Lifelong Learning, Administration, and Policy.

Faculty advisor: Aliki Nicolaides


Research Grants

Faculty and Staff

Jami Royal Berry

  • Assistant Professor-Limited Term

Laura Lee Bierema

  • Professor

Karen Bryant

  • Clinical Assistant Professor

John Dayton

  • Professor

Elizabeth H. DeBray

  • Professor

Kathleen P. deMarrais

  • Professor and Department Head

Melissa Freeman

  • Professor

Andrew David Gitlin

  • Professor

Jori N. Hall

  • Associate Professor

Seung-hyun (Caleb) Han

  • Assistant Professor

Holly Newton Ivy

  • Student Affairs Professional II

Juanita Johnson-Bailey

  • Professor

Diann Olszowy Jones

  • Clinical Assistant Professor Limited-Term

Diana E. Lofton

  • Business Manager I

Aliki Nicolaides

  • Associate Professor

Bettye Ray

  • Part-time Lecturer

Zuleme Zu Reuter

  • Administrative Specialist I

Kathryn J. Roulston

  • Professor

Wendy Ruona

  • Associate Professor and Coordinator

Karen E. Watkins

  • Professor and Associate Department Head

Richard O. Welsh

  • Assistant Professor

Sheneka M. Williams

  • Associate Professor

Sally J. Zepeda

  • Professor