Skip to page content

Planning for our 53rd Georgia Conference on Children's Literature! (March 18–19, 2022)

We are excited to be organizing a face-to-face conference for 2022 after having had an online conference last year! As an integral part of Georgia's literacy initiative for half a century, the Georgia Conference on Children's Literature draws hundreds of teachers, school media specialists, public librarians, authors, illustrators, and children's literature scholars from the Southeast and beyond. The conference also hosts the finals of the annual Helen Ruffin Reading Bowl, a statewide competition for students in grades 4-12.

The conference is also closely connected to the Georgia Children's Book Awards.

2021 Virtual Conference Recordings

Be sure to check out the Keynote speakers from this year's Virtual Conference!

Upcoming Dates

2022 Keynote Speakers

Portrait of Elana K. Arnold

Elana K. Arnold

Elana is the author of critically acclaimed and award-winning young adult novels and children's books, including the Printz Honor winner Damsel, the National Book Award finalist What Girls Are Made Of, and Global Read Aloud selection A Boy Called Bat and its sequels. Elana teaches in Hamline University's MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults program and lives in Southern California with her family and menagerie of pets.

Portrait of Angela Dominguez

Angela Dominguez

Angela was born in Mexico City and grew up in the great state of Texas. She is the author and illustrator of several books for children, including Stella Díaz Has Something To Say; Mango, Abuela, and Me; and Galápogos Girl. She is a two-time recipient of the Pura Belpré Illustration Honor. When Angela is not in her studio or visiting schools, she teaches at the Academy of Art University, which honored her with their Distinguished Alumni Award in 2013.

Portrait of Alex Gino

Alex Gino

Alex is author of middle grade novels Rick, You Don't Know Everything, Jilly P! and the Stonewall Award-winning George, which they now call Melissa's Story. They love glitter, ice cream, gardening, awe-ful puns, and stories that reflect the complexity of being alive.

Portrait of Minh Lê

Minh Lê

Minh is the author of award-winning picture books Lift and Drawn Together, as well as Let Me Finish! and The Perfect Seat. He also wrote Green Lantern: Legacy, a middle-grade graphic novel. In addition to writing books, he serves on the Board of We Need Diverse Books and has written for a variety of publications, including the New York Times, The Horn Book, NPR, and HuffPost. Outside of spending time with his wonderful wife and children at their home in San Diego, his favorite place to be is in the middle of a good book.

Portrait of Leigh Turina

Leigh Turina

Leigh is the Lead Librarian for the IBBY Collection for Young People with Disabilities and is a working children's librarian at Toronto Public Library's (TPL) North York Central branch where the collection resides. Leigh, who previously worked in the therapeutic recreation field with people with disabilities, considers this her dream job.

Submit a Proposal

We invite teachers, media specialists, public librarians, children and young adult literature and literacy scholars, authors, illustrators, and others with expertise in children's and young adult's literature to submit proposals for breakout sessions. The deadline is October 31, 2021.

Submit a Proposal

Be an Exhibitor

Exhibitors at the Conference on Children's Literature have the opportunity to meet educators, media specialists, faculty, and children's literature enthusiasts from across Georgia.

Be a Sponsor

Sponsors at the Georgia Conference on Children's Literature enhance the overall conference experience and will be recognized with a special acknowledgment in the printed program and online.

Thanks to our annual sponsors

Conference sponsors

What Others Say

I love this conference! I always learn something and come away energized.

After a two-year absence from the conference, it was GREAT to be back! I am retired now but still LOVE to attend. It's always inspiring to meet the authors and illustrators who are forever my HEROES!

Out of all the conferences I've attended, this one is the best! What other conferences is there a chance you will be on the elevator with an author/illustrator or even have one come to your table and sit down with you?

Past Conferences

For 50 years, our conference has celebrated top authors and illustrators from around the world.

2019 Keynote Speakers

  • Kwame Alexander
  • Ben Clanton
  • Alan Gratz
  • Pablo Cartaya
  • Aisha Saeed

Download the 2019 presentations
Download the 2019 program

2018 Keynote Speakers

  • Kelly DiPucchio
  • Louis Sachar
  • Grace Lin
  • Laurel Snyder
  • Åse Marie Ommundsen

Download the 2018 program

2017 Keynote Speakers

  • David Biedrzycki
  • Natalie Lloyd
  • Duncan Tonatiuh
  • Kelly Bingham
  • Kathryn White

Download the 2017 program

2016 Keynote Speakers

  • Patricia McKissack
  • Eric Velasquez
  • Carmen Deedy
  • Michael Dooling
  • Alan Gratz

Download the 2016 program

2015 Keynote Speakers

  • Clare Vanderpool
  • Jennifer Sattler
  • Susan Nees
  • Shonto Begay
  • Mike Artell

Download the 2015 program

2014 Keynote Speakers

  • Jodi Moore
  • R. Gregory Christie
  • Judith Ortiz Cofer
  • Jennifer Holm

Download the 2014 program

2013 Keynote Speakers

  • Deborah Wiles
  • Angela Johnson
  • Molly Bang
  • Pat Mora
  • Amanda Knoll and Howard McWilliam

2012 Keynote Speakers

  • Mike Wimmer
  • Barbara O'Connor
  • Carole Boston Weatherford
  • Jody Feldman
  • Meghan McCarthy

2011 Keynote Speakers

  • Mary Downing Hahn
  • Alma Flor Ada
  • Gail Gibbons
  • M.T. Anderson
  • Karen Beaumont
  • Susan Liverpool

2010 Keynote Speakers

  • Margie Palatini
  • Kadir Nelson
  • Andrea Davis Pinkney
  • Robert Burleigh
  • Fred Newman

Contact Us

University of Georgia 315 Aderhold Hall Athens, GA 30602