Skip to page content

COE graduate teaching assistants recognized by the Office of the Vice President for Instruction

  |   Kathryn Kao   |   Permalink   |   Kudos,   Students and Faculty

Sixteen University of Georgia College of Education graduate teaching assistants were recently recognized for their significant contributions to the instructional mission of the university.

Chelsey Bahlmann Bollinger, a teaching assistant in the Department of Language and Literacy Education, received the 2016 Excellence in Teaching Award along with four other UGA students. Bollinger has taught three core literacy courses for early childhood education majors and stresses the importance of teaching as a form of inquiry.

She views teaching as a process that involves ongoing reflection and the consideration of each student's unique experience and knowledge. Bollinger also combines the experiences of children and her students with the expectation of society by using technology as a connective tool.

In addition to Bollinger's recognition, 15 College of Education students were named Outstanding Teaching Assistants for 2016. A total of 127 students were recognized by the university.

The 2016 Outstanding Teaching Award honorees from the College include:

  • James Ammons, mathematics and science education
  • Cindy Blair, educational theory and practice
  • Sarah Catalana, educational psychology
  • Eunji Cho, educational theory and practice
  • Ashley Fallaize, kinesiology
  • Helene Halstead, language and literacy education
  • Simon Higgins, kinesiology
  • Stephanie Jones, language and literacy education
  • Jessica Kobe, educational theory and practice
  • David LaPlaca, kinesiology
  • Leah May, kinesiology
  • Hyojin Park, career and information studies
  • Nicole Siffrinn, language and literacy education
  • Jennifer Nicole Weaver-Runyan, counseling and human development services
  • Melissa Will, counseling and human development services

The Center for Teaching and Learning administers the Outstanding Teaching Award, sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Instruction, as well as the Excellence in Teaching Award, sponsored by the Graduate School.

© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602