Skip to page content

April 2016

COE alumna elected president of NSSLHA

April 1, 2016
Chelsea Walker, a graduate student clinician at UGA's Speech and Hearing Clinic, was recently elected president of the National Student Speech Language Hearing Association.

Middle-schoolers get campus close-up thanks to service-learning partnership

April 4, 2016
Hart County middle-schoolers took to the University of Georgia campus with the help of undergraduates in Gretchen Thomas' EDIT 2000 class, "Teaching with Technology," to capture footage and interview other UGA students about their experiences.

Professor receives Drake Group's highest honor

April 5, 2016
Kinesiology professor Billy Hawkins is the recipient of the Robert Maynard Hutchins Award.

Study finds exercise can help enhance diabetic medication

April 5, 2016
Doctoral candidate Melissa Erickson examines the effects of exercise on blood glucose levels among patients taking metformin.

Moving beyond autism awareness

April 6, 2016
In celebration of National Autism Awareness Month, members of the Athens community are invited to learn more about autism's complex nature.

Kinesiology faculty member honored by American College of Sports Medicine

April 7, 2016
Rod Dishman received the 2016 Citation Award for his outstanding contributions to the field of exercise science.

Graduate student competes for new national award

April 8, 2016
Doctoral student Melissa Erickson is one of a handful of students from across the country named as a finalist for the first-ever Presidential Cup.

Graduate students receive poster award from College's research conference

April 11, 2016
Five students were awarded the Graduate Student Research Poster Award during the 2016 College of Education Research Conference.

COE faculty members recognized during 2016 Honors Week

April 12, 2016
Five faculty members in the College of Education were recognized for their accomplishments both in the classroom and in the local community.

Senior lecturer receives 2016 Creative Teaching Award

April 13, 2016
Ilse Mason was recently recognized for her excellence in developing and implementing creative teaching strategies in the classroom.

Kinesiology professor receives 2016 Engaged Scholar Award

April 14, 2016
Phillip Tomporowski believes great things start to happen when university outreach extends academic resources to meet community needs.

COE graduate teaching assistants recognized by the Office of the Vice President for Instruction

April 15, 2016
Sixteen College of Education graduate teaching assistants were recently recognized for their significant contributions to the instructional mission of the university.

Kinesiology professor receives award from the Office of International Education

April 18, 2016
Rose Chepyator-Thomson received the Richard F. Reiff Internationalization Award for her major contributions to the overall internationalization of the university.

Professor appointed to ILA's research panel; literacy journal

April 19, 2016
Donna Alvermann was appointed to the International Literacy Association's Literacy Research Panel and will also contribute articles to the Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy.

Capuozzo quoted on rarity of males in early childhood education

April 21, 2016
Clinical assistant professor Bob Capuozzo serves as a mentor to male students majoring in early childhood education.

Associate professor brings hip-hop education to elementary classrooms

April 22, 2016
Bettina Love works to incorporate hip-hop education into the classroom by taking cues from students' real life experiences.

A passion for discovery

April 25, 2016
Student researcher Becky Baltenberger tackles muscle fatigue and upcoming graduation.

Professor recognized for work on diversity, equity

April 26, 2016
Tarek Grantham received the Student Government Association's Outstanding Professor Recognition Award for his work on diversity and equity issues.

Professor receives career award, named president-elect of professional association

April 27, 2016
Rosemary Phelps received the 2016 Career Achievement Award from OSU for her outstanding contributions to the field of counseling psychology.