Skip to page content

Two professors receive 2019 Fellows Awards from the American Counseling Association

  |   Kathryn Kao   |   Permalink   |   Kudos,   Research,   Spotlight,   Students and Faculty

Jolie Daigle and Anneliese Singh, professors in the department of counseling and human development services, recently received 2019 Fellows Awards from the American Counseling Association (ACA) for their contributions to the counseling profession.

The ACA Fellows Award is the highest honor awarded by the association and will be presented to Daigle and Singh during the ACA 2019 Conference & Expo in New Orleans on March 29.

“It is an incredible honor to be named an American Counseling Association Fellow for my contributions to multicultural and social justice counseling training and research,” said Singh, who also serves as associate dean for diversity, equity and inclusion in the College of Education. “ACA has been a professional home for me since graduate school, where I received tremendous support from mentorship.”

As one of only a few researchers studying counseling approaches with transgender and queer people of color communities, Singh finds the award both humbling and motivating. Her research, practice and advocacy are focused on the resilience of transgender people, trans people of color, nonbinary youth, survivors of trauma, immigrants, social justice and empowerment training.

Jolie Daigle

Daigle, a professor-in-resident at Rutland Academy, researches service-learning in counseling training programs, clinical preparation of school counselors, social and emotional development of children and dropout prevention. In 2016, she was elected as an editorial review board member of ACA’s Journal of Counseling and Development.

“It is an honor to be inducted as a Fellow and recognized by the American Counseling Association for my contributions to the counseling profession,” she said. “As an ACA member for almost 25 years, I hope to continue to mentor students as they find their interests within the organization.”

This year, eight counselors were granted ACA Fellow status. All honorees are active members of the association and represent a diverse community of leaders that create and expand knowledge and insight into the counseling profession.

© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602