Skip to page content

Congratulations to the College’s five Blue Key initiates

Kathryn Kao

October 25, 2021


Four students and an alumna of the Mary Frances Early College of Education were recently recognized as 2021-22 Blue Key initiates at the annual Tucker Dorsey Blue Key Awards Banquet.

Blue Key recognizes second-, third- and fourth-year undergraduate, graduate and professional students of outstanding character who have achieved distinction in scholarship, leadership and service. Members join a roster of elite UGA alumni who have been inducted into the society over the last nine decades.

The College’s 2021-22 Blue Key initiates are:

  • Phaidra Buchanan (B.S.Ed. ’21), social studies education
  • Lytzy Hernandez (B.S.Ed. ’22), exercise and sport science
  • Margaret Kowalski (B.S.Ed. ’22), sport management
  • Nia Mitchell (Ph.D. ’24), qualitative research and evaluation methodologies
  • Sophie Waller (M.S. ’18, Ph.D. ’24), kinesiology

All Blue Key awardees and initiates were recognized on Friday, Oct. 15 at the University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel. The UGA chapter of the Blue Key Honor Society is the third oldest chapter of the national organization.