Skip to page content

Faculty members receive 2023 American Psychological Association awards

  |   Anika Chaturvedi   |   Permalink   |   Kudos,   Students and Faculty

Faculty members in the Mary Frances Early College of Education’s Department of Education Psychology and Department of Counseling and Human Development Services recently received awards from the American Psychological Association.

Scott Ardoin, associate dean for research and graduate education and professor in the Department of Educational Psychology, won the 2023 APA Division 25 Fred S. Keller Behavioral Education Award.

Division 25 of the APA promotes research in the analysis of behavior, and the award highlights a researcher’s contributions to educational research and practice.

“Receiving this award is a great honor not only because it recognizes my educational research and practice, but because the nomination was spearheaded and supported by former graduate students,” Ardoin said. “Knowing they took the initiative to put me forward for this award means much more than the award itself.”

Denis Dumas, associate professor in the Department of Educational Psychology, won the 2023 APA Division 10 Daniel E. Berlyne Award.

Named for psychologist and former APA Division 10 president Daniel E. Berlyne, the award recognizes exceptional research from an early-career researcher in the study of psychology in aesthetics, creativity, and the arts.

“Human creativity is a complex phenomenon, and my research group and I work hard every day to try and understand it,” Dumas said. “I’m happy my colleagues in Division 10 recognized that effort with this award. Hopefully, the impact of our research will only continue to grow from here.”

Linda Campbell, a professor in the Department of Counseling and Human Development Services, received the 2023 Award for Distinguished Contributions to Teaching and Mentoring from Division 29 of the American Psychological Association, the Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy.

The award recognizes contributions to the field of psychotherapy through training and mentoring future psychotherapists.

© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602