Skip to page content


University Judiciary honors Jenny Penney Oliver

The University of Georgia Judiciary has renamed its annual celebration the Jenny Penney Oliver University Judiciary Recognition and Induction Ceremony in honor of the late former adviser, and College of Education faculty member Jenny Penney Oliver.

COE Innovation in Teaching Conference

Red and Black: UGA prof receives honor for career-long research

Karen Watkins, professor and associate head of the Department of Lifelong Education, Administration, and Policy in the College of Education was featured in an April 15 Red and Black story about her recent induction into the Academy of Human Resource Development Hall of Fame.

UGA Archway Facilitates Birth to Five Community Engagement in Whitfield County

With a growing consensus that early learning opportunities and intervention are critical to success, community leaders set a goal that every student in the county will read on grade level by third grade.

Smagorinsky receives national award for best publication in literacy research

College of Education professor Peter Smagorinsky has received another national award for his 2011 book on literacy research during the annual meeting of the American Educational Research Association (AERA) in Philadelphia April 3-7.

Two alumni among 10 finalists for Georgia Teacher of the Year

Two College of Education alumni -- Nick Crowder and Hyunjin Son -- were among the 10 finalists for the 2015 Georgia Teacher of the Year, State School Superintendent John Barge (EdD '04) announced in a press release on April 7.

Jenkins to receive New Investigator Award from ACSM

Nathan Jenkins, an assistant professor of kinesiology in the University of Georgia College of Education, has been selected to receive a 2014 New Investigator Award from the American College of Sports Medicine.

Ruona elected Incoming President of AHRD

Wendy Ruona, an associate professor in lifelong education, administration, and policy, was recently elected as Incoming President of the Academy of Human Resource Development (AHRD). She will serve a six-year term—two years each as Incoming President, President and Former President.

Smagorinsky: Atlanta's Elisha Gray another Great Georgia Teacher

UGA Distinguished Research Professor Peter Smagorinsky writes about Maynard Jackson High School special education teacher Elisha Gray in the April 7 Atlanta Journal Constitution.

COE, Clarke School leaders visit University of Glasgow

A group that included College of Education Dean Craig Kennedy, Associate Dean for Academic Programs Laura Bierema and Director of the Office of School Engagment Janna Dresden visited the COE's partners at the University of Glasgow (UofG) in Scotland in March 2014.
© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602