Barrow Elementary School

Barrow Elementary School

interior_8

Principal: Ellen Sabatini

PDSD Activities

On-site Learning

Barrow is involved in the PDSD through clusters of teacher candidates, on-site courses and instructional technology support.

Gretchen Thomas in the department of career and information studies supervises small groups of UGA students who work on-site once a week as part of their instructional technology course. The course works with Media Specialist Mr. Plemmons in the media center to support makerspace and works with teachers to support STEAM-based activities in their classrooms.

Graduate students in the department of mathematics and science education teach the course entitled Children’s Mathematical Thinking, EMAT3400 on-site each semester.

Previous UGA courses taught at Barrow have included social studies methods courses, first-year courses focused on reading with children, an elementary art methods course,  a special education course, and a service-learning course related to hunger issues.


Research

The school was the site of a two-year study, led by Dr. Jennifer James, teacher researchers and Principal Dr. Ellen Sabatini, that explored what it means to prepare students for civic participation in a 21st-century world. This research was published in the School-University Partnerships journal, click here for a pdf of the article.


Mentor Teachers

Heather Wisz
Pre-Kindergarten
wiszhe@clarke.k12.ga.us

Kelly Hocking
Kindergarten
hockingk@clarke.k12.ga.us

Yinka Stuckey
1st Grade
stuckeyy@clarke.k12.ga.us

Angela Wyatt
1st Grade
wyatta@clarke.k12.ga.us

Abby Brink
2nd Grade
brinka@clarke.k12.ga.us

Carrie Yawn
2nd Grade
yawnca@clarke.k12.ga.us

Haley Cullum
3rd Grade
cullumh@clarke.k12.ga.us

Sara Clarke
3rd Grade
clarkes@clarke.k12.ga.us

Michelle Hart
3rd Grade
hartmi@clarke.k12.ga.us

Em Smith Headley
3rd Grade
headleye@clarke.k12.ga.us

Aziz Coleman
4th Grade
colemanz@clarke.k12.ga.us

Beth Selleck
4th Grade
selleckb@clarke.k12.ga.us

Rita Foretich
Resource Teacher: Fine Arts
foretichr@clarke.k12.ga.us

Heather Benton
Special Education
bentonh@clarke.k12.ga.us

Elizabeth Kelley
Special Education
kelleye@clarke.k12.ga.us


UGA Teacher Candidate Supervisors

Dr. Allison Nealy
Department of Communication Sciences and Special Education
anealy@uga.edu