Cedar Shoals High School

Cedar Shoals High School

Principal: DeAnne Varitek
interior_18

PDSD Activities

Cedar Shoals High offers innovative professional development in social studies, with increasing numbers of social studies teachers becoming mentors to teacher candidates.  Currently, Dr. Sonia Janis and Dr. Mardi Schmeichel teach Pedagogy, Practice and Theory in Clinical Spaces (ESOC 4455, 4450L, and 4/6370) on-site every Fall semester.


Published Articles and Presentations

Click here for a complete list of published articles and presentations.


Mentor Teachers 

English Education:

Brent Andrews
English/Language Arts
andrewsb@clarke.k12.ga.us

Alicia Harvey
English/Language Arts
harveya@clarke.k12.ga.us

Aisha Willis
English/Language Arts
willisa@clarke.k12.ga.us

Fine Arts Education:

Mary Claire Mixon
Fine Arts
mixonm@clarke.k12.ga.us

Laura Johnson
Fine Arts
johnsonll@clarke.k12.ga.us

Mathematics Education:

Amit Bharucha
Mathematics
bharuchaa@clarke.k12.ga.us

Vincent Panetta
Mathematics
panettav@clarke.k12.ga.us

Science Education:

Matthew Baker
Science
bakerm@clarke.k12.ga.us

Stella Guerrero
Science
guerreros@clarke.k12.ga.us

Social Studies Education:

Erin Adamson
Social Studies
adamsone@clarke.k12.ga.us

Amelia Haynes
Social Studies
haynesa2@clarke.k12.ga.us

Shemeda Jones
Social Studies
jonessh@clarke.k12.ga.us

Gavin Matesich
Social Studies
matesichg@clarke.k12.ga.us


UGA Teacher Candidate Supervisor

Dr. Sonia Janis 
Department of Educational Theory and Practice
soniaelj@uga.edu 

Biography

Sonia Janis received her Ed.D. in Curriculum Studies with an emphasis in multicultural education from Georgia Southern University, a Master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Georgia State University, and a Bachelor’s degree in Secondary Social Studies Education from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She taught secondary social studies and served as a public school administrator from 2001-2011. Currently, she is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Georgia where she teaches graduate students and pre-service social studies teachers. She has written about the multi-racial, multicultural, and cross-cultural experience, critical race theory, curriculum in the U. S. South, activist practitioner narrative inquiry, and teaching and researching for social justice.