Early Learning Center

Early Learning Center

Director: Karen Higginbotham

UGA Faculty Activities

Dr. Cindy Vaildepartment head in the communication sciences & special education department, provides professional learning on Positive Behaviors and Supports (PBIS), collaboration, and social emotional skills.

Dr. Stacey Neuharth-Pritchettassociate dean for academic programs, provides assistance with grant writing, program assessment, and classroom assessment data collection and analysis.

Dr. Diane Bales, faculty in the College of Family and Consumer Sciences, conducts professional learning on Better Brains for Babies with the Early Head Start faculty and staff.

Dr. Bob Capuozzo, faculty in the department of educational theory and practice, supervises “Arts in Early Childhood Education” teacher candidates.

Dr. Rebecca Liberman-Betz, faculty in the communication sciences & special education department, supervises Birth-5 teacher candidates.

The Early Learning Center also partners with the State Botanical Garden of Georgia.


Professional Learning

Early Learning Center professional learning includes Positive Behaviors and Supports, Social Emotional Skills for young children, the collaborative planning and data teams process, RTI and family engagement. OEL-wide professional learning centers around the Office Improvement Plan, including goals focusing on early mathematical skills, early literacy skills, social emotional skills, and family engagement activities.


Research

Drs. Cindy Vail, Rebecca Lieberman-Betz and Jennifer Brown, all from department of Communication Sciences & Special Education, are starting a project with the Early Head Start teachers using peer coaching to improve the quality of responsive care giving with infants and toddlers.

Dr. Diane Bales and Dr. Caree Cotwright, both in the College of Family and Consumer Sciences, are also conducting  Healthy Child Care Georgia research.


Mentor Teachers

Brenda Baugus
Early Head Start
baugusb@clarke.k12.ga.us

Sonia Holloman
Early Head Start
hollomans@clarke.k12.ga.us

Patience Ingram
Early Head Start
ingramp@clarke.k12.ga.us

Miranda Morris
Head Start
morrism@clarke.k12.ga.us

Latasha Rolland
Head Start Pre-K
rollandl@clarke.k12.ga.us

Holly Davis
Pre-K
davish@clarke.k12.ga.us

Nicole Layfield
Pre-K
layfieldk@clarke.k12.ga.us

Kristen Swindle
Preschool Special Education
pauffk@clarke.k12.ga.us

Jessica Tutt
tuttj@clarke.k12.ga.us

 


UGA Teacher Candidate Supervisors

Dr. Bob Capuozzo
Department of Educational Theory and Practice
capuozzo@uga.edu

Dr. Rebecca Liberman-Betz
Department of Communication Sciences and Special Education
rglb@uga.edu