Fowler Drive Elementary School

Fowler Drive Elementary School

Principal: Anissa Johnson

PDSD Activities

Faculty Involvement

Professor-in-Residence Dr. Beth Tolley in the department of educational theory and practice supervises 15 student teachers and 25-30 field-experience students on-site each semester. She conducts informal and formal observations of the students in the classrooms and meets with them to provide feedback. She interacts informally with teachers to get a sense of how her students are progressing and to offer any help to them that they might request.

Tolley also collaborates almost daily with Principal Dr. Anissa Johnson about any issues or concerns that might arise and is part of the school’s instructional leadership team. As a PIR, she is aware of the goals and focus of the school and adjusts her course requirements to include progress towards these goals. UGA students are actively involved in nearly every classroom, and Fowler Drive students benefit from individualized attention and small group work. Tolley’s UGA students also participate in planning and professional learning together with teachers.

Click here for a video about Fowler’s PDS work.

On-Site Learning

Tolley also teaches an elementary methods course on-site, EDEC 4030 (Integrated Curriculum in the Early Childhood Classroom). Teachers at the school serve as guest lecturers in the on-site classes to offer insight to pre-service teachers on a variety of educational practices.

Dr. Paula Schwanenflugel teaches an on-site educational psychology course which offers UGA students the opportunity to work one-on-one with students twice a week to strengthen reading and comprehension skills. Collected data demonstrate growth in reading achievement for many of the children. Other COE methods courses in mathematics and reading are also taught on-site for early childhood education majors most semesters.

A graduate student in the department of language and literacy education teaches Language and Literacy P-5 on-site with an emphasis on writing at Fowler Elementary.

Other COE methods courses in mathematics are also taught on-site for early childhood education majors most semesters.

Professional Learning

UGA students conduct an instructional technology fair each semester for the teachers and staff of Fowler Drive. They also plan lessons collaboratively with teachers on Monday and Wednesday afternoons, which gives them continuity and a greater understanding of curriculum during the weeks that they are supporting instruction to Fowler Drive students.

Professional learning also includes a co-teaching “pairs” workshop for mentor teachers and teacher candidates each semester. UGA students also participate in professional learning on guided reading, the RTI process, and child abuse.

School-Based Events

UGA students actively participate in school-based activities, such as Math Night, Literacy Night, Science Night, and Fine Arts Night. Students assist teachers in creating activities that will strengthen the knowledge and learning for students, parents and community.


Special Honors

In 2015, the school was named the winner of the prestigious 2015 High Flying School award, which was presented at the 26th National Youth-At-Risk Conference in Savannah, GA. In 2014, Fowler Drive was honored by the Georgia Department of Education as a “Reward School” – that is, a school with the highest performance or the biggest academic gains by students in the last three years.


Research

Dr. Jori Hall in the department of lifelong learning, administration, and policy conducted a study at Fowler Drive Elementary and J. J. Harris Elementary, examining how various stakeholder groups (i.e., district/school administrators, teachers, students, UGA faculty and community members) advance Professional Development School (PDS) goals, such as improvement of teacher preparation and collaborative teaching/learning.


Mentor Teachers

Ann Benedek
Kindergarten Teacher
benedeka@clarke.k12.ga.us

Kimberley Bosquet
Kindergarten Teacher
bosquetk@clarke.k12.ga.us

Brekita Craft
Kindergarten Teacher
craftb2@clarke.k12.ga.us

Donna Spangler
Kindergarten Teacher
spanglerd@clarke.k12.ga.us

Elizabeth Bennett
1st Grade Teacher
bennette@clarke.k12.ga.us

Alexandria Douglas
1st Grade Teacher
douglasal@clarke.k12.ga.us

Cameron Strange
1st Grade Teacher
strangec@clarke.k12.ga.us

Tava Aziabor
2nd Grade Teacher
aziabort@clarke.k12.ga.us

Rachel McKee
2nd Grade Teacher
mckeer@clarke.k12.ga.us

Quincy Wilkins
2nd Grade Teacher
wilkinsq@clarke.k12.ga.us

Ashley Cloer
3rd Grade Teacher
cloera@clarke.k12.ga.us

Jullea Doherty
3rd Grade Teacher
dohertyj@clarke.k12.ga.us

Jennifer Whiteside
3rd Grade Teacher
whitesidej@clarke.k12.ga.us

Charity Dagadu
4th Grade Teacher
dagaduc@clarke.k12.ga.us

Linda Herring
4th Grade Teacher
herringl@clarke.k12.ga.us

Yoshika Middlebrooks
4th Grade Teacher
middlebrooksy@clarke.k12.ga.us

Latoya Lewis
5th Grade Teacher
lewisla@clarke.k12.ga.us

Bernita White
5th Grade Teacher
whiteb@clarke.k12.ga.us

Joan Stevens
5th Grade Teacher
stevensj@clarke.k12.ga.us


UGA Teacher Candidate Supervisors

Dr. Beth Tolley
Department of Educational Theory and Practice
btolley@uga.edu

Ashley Love
Department of Educational Theory and Practice
allove@uga.edu

Shannon Thompson
Department of Educational Theory and Practice
sthomps@uga.edu