Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School

Oglethorpe Avenue Elementary School

PDSD Activities

Faculty Support:

Dr. Lou Tolosa-Casadont in the department of language and literacy education is the Professor-in-Residence at Oglethorpe Avenue and has been charged with supporting the launch and implementation of the dual language immersion at the pre-K and Kindergarten levels during the 2016-17 academic year and the addition of first grade in 2017-18.  Additionally, Dr. Tolosa-Casadont provides job-embedded professional development to all DLI teachers, models teaching strategies in the classrooms, aworks directly with DLI students in all three grade levels, and teaches an on-site methods course. Click here for an article about the Dual Language Immersion program in the Athens Banner-Herald.

Click here to read a profile on Lou Tolosa-Casadont in the Fall 2016 Office of School Engagement newsletter.

On-Site Courses:

Dr. Sherell McArthur in department of educational theory and practice teaches an early childhood integrated curricular practice course on-site, and a graduate student in the department of language and literacy education teaches a reading instruction and assessment course on-site.


Mentor Teachers

 

Emily Biscoglia
5th Grade
biscogliae@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Karen Collins
3rd Grade
collinsk@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Lyndsay Goekeritz
4th Grade
goekeritzl@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Sarah Goodwin
1st Grade
goodwinsa@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Megan Makin
5th Grade
russellme@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Laura Porter
5th Grade
porterl@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Renee Powers
3rd Grade

powersr@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Kim Russell
1st Grade
russellk@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Andrea Tillman
Kindergarten
tillmanan@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Jeanna Wheeler
3rd Grade
wheelerj@clarke.k12.ga.us

 

Morgan Jones
Counselor
jonesmo@clarke.k12.ga.us


UGA Instructors

Dr. Sherell McArthur

Department of Education Theory and Practice, Early Childhood Education

sherell.mcarthur@uga.edu

 

Ms. Courtney Shimek

Department of Language & Literacy Education

courtney.shimek25@uga.edu