W.R. Coile Middle School

W.R. Coile Middle School

Principal: Dr. Tomas Ramirez

PDSD Activities

On-Site Learning

Coile Middle offers innovative professional development in social studies, with increasing numbers of social studies teachers becoming mentors to teacher candidates.

Currently, Dr. Sonia Janis and Dr. Mardi Schmeichel teach Pedagogy, Practice and Theory in Clinical Spaces (ESOC 4455/4450L) on-site every Fall semester.

Dr. Ruth Harman of the department of language and literacy education teaches a graduate-level class on-site (LLED 7053) which focuses on content-based instruction in ESOL in the spring semester. UGA students observe Coile teachers, support teachers in disciplinary literacy activities and share curricular modules that they develop with teachers at the end of the semester.

Harman also coordinates ARTS!YOUTH, an after-school program that incorporates the languages and dialects of all students in generating knowledge and literacy in a collective way (click here for College of Education article about this work).

In prior years, Harman, graduate students, and Coile literacy coaches conducted workshops for teachers on literacy and supported teachers’ use of genre-based instruction in content areas.


Mentor Teachers

Audrey Patterson
6th Grade Language Arts
pattersona@clarke.k12.ga.us

Steven Sacco
6th Grade Social Studies
saccos@clarke.k12.ga.us

Frederic Rushing
7th Grade Math
rushingf@clarke.k12.ga.us

Hilary Ruston
8th Grade Math
rustonh@clarke.k12.ga.us

Paul Sellew
8th Grade Language Arts
sellewp@clarke.k12.ga.us

Charlie Wilson
6th Grade Social Studies
wilsonc@clarke.k12.ga.us