Skip to page content

The Georgia Children's Book Award was established in 1968 by Sheldon Root, professor in the Department of Language Education in the College of Education at the University of Georgia. The purpose of the award is to foster a love of reading in the children of Georgia and to introduce them to books of literary excellence. The annual award is given in two categories: picturebooks and middle grade books. The selection process involves teachers, school library media specialists, public librarians, and tens of thousands of youth from across the state.

The book awards are also closely connected to the annual Georgia Conference on Children's Literature.

2018 Georgia Children's Book Award Winners

2018 Book Award winners

“It Came in the Mail,” written and illustrated by Ben Clanton (Picturebook, Grades K-4 winner) and “Projekt 1065,” written by Alan Gratz (Book, Grades 4-8 winner)

On This Page

  • Nominate a Title
  • Download the Finalists
  • Educator Resources
  • Past Award Winners


  • Department of Language and Literacy Education
  • Questions? Email us!

Nominate a Title

Submit your nomination for the 2019-2020 lists by Sept. 1.

More Details

Download the 2018-2019 Book Finalists Lists

Past Award Winners


Book Award: "Projekt 1065" by Alan Gratz
Picturebook Award: "It Came in the Mail" by Ben Clanton


Book Award: "Fuzzy Mud" by Louis Sachar
Picturebook Award: "Gaston" by Kelly DiPucchio and Christian Robinson


Book Award: "A Snicker of Magic" by Natalie Lloyd
Picturebook Award: "Breaking News: Bear Alert" by David Biedrzycki


Book Award: "Michael Vey: the Prisoner of Cell 25" by Richard Paul Evans
Picturebook Award: "Ol' Clip-Clop: A Ghost Story" by Patricia McKissack and Eric Velasquez


Book Award: "Wonder" by R.J. Palacio
Picturebook Award: "Sylvie" by Jennifer Sattler


Book Award: "Hero" by Mike Lupica
Picturebook Award: "When a Dragon Moves in" by Jodi Moore and Howard McWilliam


Book Award: "The Hunger Games" by Suzanne Collins
Picturebook Award: "I Need My Monster" by Amanda Noll and Howard McWilliam


Book Award: "The Golly-Whopper Games" by Jody Feldman
Picturebook Award: "Aliens are Coming! The True Account of the 1938 War of the Worlds Radio Broadcast" by Meghan McCarthy

Archives and Other Resources

History of the Awards
History of the Awards
Leadership History
Leadership History
Past Posters
Past Posters