Skip to page content

Anna Elizabeth Butler Memorial Scholarship

The endowment that supports the Anna Elizabeth Butler Memorial Scholarship was started in 2021 in memory of Anna Elizabeth Butler. Anna, a Triple Dawg, was a fierce and enthusiastic advocate for people with disabilities. Through her volunteer work and professional endeavors, Anna dedicated her life’s work to serving the community. As an instructor and supervisor, Anna was determined to see people who needed the most support and care succeed. She will forever be revered by the students and faculty that had the pleasure to know her and witness her live with intention.

At a Glance

  • Deadline: November 1st
  • Audience: Undergraduate juniors and seniors pursuing degrees in special education
  • Financial Aid Type: Scholarship
  • Semesters: Spring
  • Contact: Melissa Montalvo


The purpose of this fund is to provide scholarship support for an undergraduate student(s) in the Department of Communication Sciences and Special Education . First preference shall be given to junior and senior special education majors with financial need, as determined by the Office of Student Financial Aid. 

Additional preference will be given to those who plan to pursue an advanced degree(s) beyond their bachelor’s degree. Recipients will be selected by a committee appointed by the dean of the Mary Frances Early College of Education.

How to Apply

This scholarship is awarded during the Spring semester each year. It may be applied to the student’s account for the Spring semester or for the immediately following summer or fall semester.

Applicants will be asked to submit a two-page personal statement addressing their qualifications for the award with respect to the specified eligibility criteria, their future goals in special education, unofficial transcripts highlighting their GPA, evidence of current enrollment in a specific program at UGA, evidence of financial need, and current resume by November 1st or the first business day after that.

This statement should be directed to:

Awards and Scholarships Committee Department of Communication Sciences and Special Education 570 Aderhold Hall University of Georgia Athens, GA 30602

Apply Today

© University of Georgia, Athens, GA 30602